Sign Up Now
Twitter Facebook Flickr Buzz
PhotoshopSociety.org
 
Search:   
 
Social Networks

LOGIN     

Go
Forgot Password? Go Join Now
Sign Up for Starter's Pack (Free)
Call (800) 223-8720
Email custserv@photoshopsociety.org
 
Need Web Solutions? Get Free Sample Issue

Inside Photoshop: Search Articles

  Search Library:  
 
2018 |  2017 |  2016 |  2015 |  2014 |  2013 |  2012 |  2011 |  2010 |  2009 |  2008 |  2007 |  2006 |  2005 | 
 

Save your hide with the History palette (CS/CS2/CS3)

Added on Thursday 15th of January 2009 01:45 am EST
 

Application:

Adobe Photoshop CS/CS2/CS3

Operating Systems:

Macintosh, Microsoft Windows

Picture this: You’re editing an image and make major changes, which you intend to save as a different file. However, you accidentally press [command]S ([Ctrl]S in Windows) and save the file, overwriting your existing image instead. Do you panic? You don’t need to—because you can easily go back in time with the History palette.

If you accidentally save over an existing file, the most important thing to remember is: Don’t close the file! Instead, choose Window > History to display the History palette. Then, click on the Create New Document From Current State button located at the base of the History palette, as shown in Figure A, to open a new window with that same file. Now, save that newly opened file (Photoshop names it based on the last function you applied) with the file name you intended to rename your file as.

Next, go back to your original image, click on the History State just prior to the major change you made—or click on the image thumbnail at the top of the History palett...