Sign Up Now
Twitter Facebook Flickr Buzz
PhotoshopSociety.org
 
Search:   
 
Social Networks

LOGIN     

Go
Forgot Password? Go Join Now
Sign Up for Starter's Pack (Free)
Call (800) 223-8720
Email custserv@photoshopsociety.org
 
Need Web Solutions? Get Free Sample Issue

Inside Photoshop: Search Articles

  Search Library:  
 
2018 |  2017 |  2016 |  2015 |  2014 |  2013 |  2012 |  2011 |  2010 |  2009 |  2008 |  2007 |  2006 |  2005 | 
 

Do I need to maximize my compatibility?

Added on Friday 27th of January 2006 03:27 am EST
 

Application:

Adobe Photoshop CS/CS2

Operating Systems:

Macintosh, Microsoft Windows

Keywords:

Photoshop, Maximize Compatibility, Preferences

 

Every time I save a Photoshop file I get a warning asking me if I want to maximize my compatibility. Is this something I need to do? Can I turn this warning off, or should I leave it on?

 

The Maximize compatibility option is actually a preference setting, and yes, you can turn it on or off via the Preferences dialog box. To access the preference, choose Photoshop > Preferences > File Handling (Edit > Preferences > File Handling in Windows) and check out the File Compatibility section of the dialog box, where you’ll find a pop-up menu for Maximize PSD File Compatibility. Your options are Always, Never, and Ask.

 

Note: In previous versions this warning was still there, it was just called something different. It ranged from version to version but one example was “Maximize Backwards Compatibility in Photoshop Format.”

 

What does it do?

So what does the maximize compatibility option do? In a nutshell, it saves a composite (flattened) version of your layered file, along with the layered file when you save the document. In doing so, you wind up with a larger file size. As we mentioned before, there are three options to choose from in the pop-up menu.

        Always. When you select this option, you won’t get a prompt— Photoshop will always save a composite copy of your image with the layered file.

      &nb...